In This Section

No Valid License, License Suspended And Unregistered Vehicle

Helping You Understand What You Might Face

Driving Without a Valid License or No Valid Driver's License (NVDL) is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida, punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. More often than not, a person charged with NVDL is someone who has made every effort to get a license, but has either been unable to pass the driver's test or is ineligible for a license due to immigration issues. This can be frustrating for those who are law-abiding members of the community and are simply trying to drive to work to make a living for their family.

A suspended, cancelled or revoked license can result from a variety of issues, such as an arrest or conviction for DUI, failure to pay a traffic ticket, failure to appear in court for a traffic offense, or failure to pay child support. The criminal charge of Driving While License Suspended, Cancelled or Revoked (DWLS) can range from a second-degree misdemeanor to a third-degree felony and can result in jail time after repeated convictions.

Three offenses for Driving While License Suspended, Cancelled or Revoked within five years will result in the Department of Motor Vehicles designating you as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). HTO status triggers a five-year driver license suspension and subjects you to significant incarceration.

Driving an Unregistered Motor Vehicle?

Driving without a valid registration is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. An expired registration is also considered a second-degree misdemeanor after six (6) months of expiration. Both charges carry a possible penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.

The Proper Guidance

An attorney can help show you the proper steps to reinstate your license or guide you toward obtaining a valid vehicle registration. A lawyer can also help to minimize penalties associated with these offenses.

Extensive Experience. Aggressive Defense.

At Casanova Law, leading Attorney Lourdes Casanova has extensive expertise defending individuals in Lake Worth, West Palm Beach, Stuart, and all of South Florida.

She knows the law and your constitutional rights. She will examine whether the police officer had probable cause to stop or search your vehicle and if any other unlawful procedures occurred.

Casanova Law understands that a criminal charge does not make someone a criminal. We fight hard for our clients with the ultimate goal of dismissing the case.

Let a Qualified Lawyer Help Answer Your Questions

Contact a lawyer with Casanova Law today. Call 561-209-1440 or use our online form.

Se Habla Español. Fala-se Português.